2 am Doubts

“Hello, we haven’t talked in quite some time;
I know,
I haven’t been the best…
of sons”

Twenty-One Pilots, Addict With a Pen

Well, in this case, it’s “daughter”;
Who’s searching for water –

So, tell me, my Father,
Why can’t I run farther?

I am hindered by failings
And limits, and railings,
When I begin to succeed,
They end up prevailing.

These lines against which I wail,
Grapple, fight, and constantly fail;
I feel so small, and weak, and frail.

What is it about me?
Must I acknowledge I can’t be
Who I think I might see?

Is it just me –
In fear and anxiety
Afraid to be what I could become –

Free?

Leave a Reply

